Macchina! Macchina!*

That was Pata’s response when we asked her if she wanted to see a classic car show in Sessa (really nothing more than a bunch of old cars driving up the Corso and parking in Piazza Mercato) last Sunday morning.

Classic car traffic jam in Piazza Mercato

Classic car traffic jam in Piazza Mercato

 

Parade of cars

Parade of cars

Racing car (anyone who knows what it is, please let me know.)

Racing car (anyone who knows what it is, please let me know.)


My favorite, a Citröen 15 CV (I’m embarrassed to say I don’t know the year:)
Citröen 15 CV

Citröen 15 CV

Grill

Grill

Citroen 15 headlamp_2

Headlamp

Motor

Motor

 

Steering wheel and dashboard

Steering wheel and dashboard

 

Pata and papà watching the show

Pata and papà watching the show

 

*Car! Car!
18 responses to “Macchina! Macchina!*

  1. How nice to have found yoru blog! I remember going ot these 'old' car shows with my parents (I'm from Rome) and I have fond memories of them. Nice to find you on the webCiaoAnita

  2. The best picture of the lot did not show a macchina!Then,I must admit, I don't know the difference between a Jeep and a Ferrari. Which is only a slight exaggeration. Having said that, I do love to see antique cars as they go by in a parade or show. They're all so pimped up and showy, you gotta love 'em.Miss Footloosewww.lifeintheexpatlane.blogspot.comTales of the Globetrotting Life

  3. Aren't they, Laura? I love getting to see all the European classic cars I never saw back home.Welcome, Anita!Thanks, Miss Footloose! I'm partial to that photo as well.

  4. Great photos KC, but of course my fave was of sweet Pata! Sure can tell she was having fun. :)

  5. Hi Karen, it's PaulI was just writing to tell you I have purchased the camera for the PS3. I believe Denise told me you still have to sign up for the network, but when you do call or email us and we can get to chattingBy the way, great shots of the cars. Was it the new lens?Ciao

  6. Hi..While I adore the last photo, I also really like the chaos of the first one a lot.Dana

  7. No clue about the race car but wished it were in my garage. Beautiful pictures especially Daddy and his girl!

  8. I just started following a week ago, and didn't put two-and-two together! Laura @ Ciao Amalfi just told me that you're in Sessa Aurunca… and I was just working in Francolise from 7am to 6pm yesterday! I'll be back on Wednesday to give a Family Reunion and tour to a client, but I'll have to give you a shout out next time I'm in the area. It's always good to meet fellow expats :-)

  9. Thank you Amber. That's Pata's serious "observing things" face.Peter, it was by far the most spectacular car in the show. It was also the only one with engine trouble, lol. Francolise, huh? Is that the tiny town with the autovelox on the Appia? Maybe that's Sparanise. I get all the "ise" towns mixed up. Thanks, Karen!Dana, it seemed like such a quintessentially Italian moment. The cars all drove proudly up the Corso, and once they got to the piazza, no one knew what to do, hence the traffic jam. Gil, isn't it fabulous? I think I like it best after the Citroen.Thank you, Lost in Sicily, I really enjoyed taking the Citroen detail photos most of all. Thanks Dim Sum. I think these car shows are pretty common- you might stumble upon one yourself sooner or later. Thanks Gail, the one with the cap is my favorite. It has such a beautiful form.

  10. Yeah, I'm not a fan of them either.Paul, I forgot to respond to your comment. I created an account, but I think I need to initialize it online. I'll send Denise an email as soon as I do that. And yes, I shot them with the new lens, which I love.

Comments are closed.