Pescocostanzo

View of Pescocostanzo

View of Pescocostanzo

N, Pata and I spent a few days between Christmas and New Year’s in the town of Pescocostanzo, in Abruzzo. We went there hopeful for snow, but found very little of it, as days of heavy rains had washed most of it away before we arrived. But we had little choice in the timing of our trip, and we tried to make the best of it, (which wasn’t easy, considering that it continued to rain almost constantly while we there.)

On the only sunny morning, we drove up into the mountains and stopped at the first patch of snow large enough to pull Pata around in a sled.

Sledding

Sledding

Pata with the "no ball"

Pata with the “no ball”

Don’t be fooled by her expression. That snowball (which is pronounced “no ball” if you’re wondering) was dear enough to her that it rode with us all the way to Sulmona, where I succeeded in prying it from her hands only because she had fallen asleep.

Pescocostanzo is an elegant town with an interesting history and some very fine architecture. Though I’d been there three times before, this visit was the first time I was able to get a good look at the town. The photos that follow would have benefited from blue skies but I was just delighted that it stopped raining long enough for me to get my camera out.
Sta. Maria delle Colle

Sta. Maria delle Colle, fifteenth century, with sixteenth- and seventeenth- century additions

Street view toward Sta. Maria delle Colle

Street view toward Sta. Maria delle Colle

Typical street

Typical street

The town is full of interesting architectural details. These were two of my favorite:

Portal

Portal

Window with lintel engraved, "Chi sa" "Who knows"

Window with lintel engraved, “Chi sa” “Who knows”

Most of the town is a pedestrian zone, which is always a joy with small children, especially if you have a runner like we do. Pata enjoys going for a stroll, or passeggio, as she prefers to call it, but she doesn’t care much for holding hands. We’re working on that, but in the meantime it was a relief to be in a place where we didn’t have to worry about cars. And Pata, feeling free to be herself, had a great time.
Pata on the Strada Vulpes

Pata on the Strada Vulpes

11 responses to “Pescocostanzo

  1. I have just come across your blog – and I love the photos!!! and I shall definitely be popping over to follow it!! If you are interested in the bilingual side of things have a look at Mummy Do That's blog – she has loads of links etc about bilingualism!!

  2. Sorry to hear about the rain and lack of snow, but it looks absolutely beautiful! wishing you and your family a happy 2010

  3. Ourprivateblog (that's a mouthful!), welcome and thanks for recommending that blog, I will certainly have a look at it.Karen, it really is a beautiful town, and I recommend it as a place to visit in winter or summer. There are several other beautiful towns nearby, Sulmona (which has some very elegant architecture,) the lago di Scanno, it's a great part of Abruzzo.Reb, I think you two would get along very well!

  4. It is a beautiful part of Abruzzo. Lago di Scanno is a nice place to visit in the summer too. But it has been gray and dreary here unfortunately. The more I read about Pata though, the more I think that our children are very much alike. Luigi always wants to go but never wants to hold hands. We enjoy finding places where he can roam free. Do you have trouble keeping her occupied in the car? Luigi absolutely hates being in his car seat for more than 5 minutes so our journeys are usually punctuated by his complaints.

  5. Mary, I dread going places in the car. When we're all together I have to sit in the back with her or she freaks out. I have memories of singing that "wheels on the bus" song for hours on end. She is getting better, though.

  6. Hi KC,Thanks for taking me there with your lovely photos. Pata also reminds me of the way my daughter was at the same age — exhausting! I remember quite clearly how her need to roam fast and freely put me in hysterics. . . she has since calmed quite a bit & won't leave my sight in public.Good luck.Glad to see you back.Dana

  7. Pingback: Venosa | the owl in the pulpit·

Comments are closed.