‘Medioevo Sotto le Stelle’

(‘The Middle Ages Under the Stars.’) Except that the historical period in question wasn’t exactly medieval. Nor was it nighttime. Small matter, the pageantry on view in Sessa’s Piazza Mercato last Saturday afternoon was thoroughly entertaining, despite the imprecision.

Drummers and Sbandieratori of the Gruppo Storico Marino Marzano

Drummers and Sbandieratori of the Gruppo Storico Marino Marzano

The event, organized by Sessa’s Gruppo Storico Marino Marzano included performances by Sbandieratori (Flag throwers,) Pistolieri (Pistoleers,) and a reenactment of a battle between King Ferdinand I of Naples and the rebellious Duke Marino Marzano. Some photos:

The court of Ferdinand I (Ferrante) of Naples

The court of Ferdinand I (Ferrante) of Naples

Smoking Pistoliere

Smoking Pistoliere

Loading ammunition

Loading ammunition

Swordfight

Sword fight

Gruppo Assalto La Rosa e la Spada

Gruppo Assalto La Rosa e la Spada


8 responses to “‘Medioevo Sotto le Stelle’

  1. Nice. I have to wonder if perhaps your husband may be one of the men in tights! Just wondering. . .

  2. I have to say, your festivals are much more interesting than ours. Great pictures!

  3. I added myself to follow your blog. You are more than welcome to visit mine and become a follower if you want to. God Bless You ~Ron

Comments are closed.