Pompeii

View of the Scavi toward Vesuvius

View of the Scavi toward Vesuvius

I don’t really like Pompeii. After a couple of hours, I always feel like I’ve had enough, and when I look back on all the times I’ve visited the site, the feeling of being unbearably hot and tired dominates my memories. I went again yesterday, and it not being my choice to go, I decided to make the best of it by looking for interesting details to photograph. After a couple of hours of that, I’d had enough, but I was the only one in our party who did not have the overwhelming desire to see ever more treacherously paved streets with rows of brick piers bearing little grey stone slabs inscribed with numbers, the only element distinguishing them from one another.

In the Forum Baths, I found these stuccoed decorations that I’d never examined carefully before. Having noticed that slowing the group down by taking pictures caused displeasure among the other members, I was careful to spend as much time as I could photographing these.

Detail of a frieze with stuccoed figures, Baths, Pompeii

Detail of a frieze with stuccoed figures, Forum Baths, Pompeii

Stucco medallion in the baths, Pompeii

Stucco medallion, Forum Baths, Pompeii

Putto, Baths, Pompeii

Putto, Forum Baths, Pompeii

At the House of the Faun, I noticed these frescoes, presumably meant to be fictive stone, for the first time (that I remember.)

Fresco in the entryway of the House of the Faun, Pompeii

Fresco in the entryway of the House of the Faun, Pompeii

Fresco in the entryway of the House of the Faun, Pompeii

Fresco in the entryway of the House of the Faun, Pompeii

2 responses to “Pompeii

  1. I had Latin for 9 years in school, and Pompeii was a crucial city in some tales we had to translate. I would love to visit it. Is it hot even during the “winter” times??

    • It depends. If you’re there on a day with clear skies, you can still feel the heat of the sun even in the winter. Ffrom November through February you probably wouldn’t be uncomfortable because the temperature would be low enough that the sun wouldn’t be oppressive. But already in March, it can feel very hot there.

      The first time I went I was in ecstasy for the first couple of hours and didn’t mind the heat. I think how hot it feels probably has a lot to do with your level of enthusiasm. ;) If you ever get to go, you should try to see Herculaneum too. It’s smaller and better preserved. At least it was the last time I went.

Comments are closed.