Chocolate clafoutis

I had a recipe for a clafoutis on my old blog but didn’t republish it when I imported all my old posts here. I made one this evening with cherries picked from our trees, and remembering that it’s one of my favorite desserts, I thought I should share the recipe again.

Chocolate cherry clafoutis

Chocolate clafoutis

Ingredients:
1 lb or 500g cherries (I pit them because it’s a personal preference, but traditional clafoutis call for whole cherries)
4 eggs
3/4 cup sugar
1 cup/250ml whole milk
2 tsp. brandy
3/4 cup flour
pinch of salt
4 oz. (115g) dark chocolate
1 oz. (28g) butter

Preheat your oven to 375°F (190°C). Grease a ten-inch pie pan or equivalent.

Melt the chocolate with the butter (I do it in a pyrex bowl in the microwave, but a double boiler will do, of course,) allow to cool slightly, then whisk in one of the eggs until well blended. Set aside.

In a large bowl, beat the remaining three eggs with the sugar until frothy. Add the milk and brandy and beat until smooth. Stir in the flour and the salt, blend well.

Combine the two mixtures and blend with a whisk until smooth.

Spread the cherries in the bottom of the prepared pan and pour the combined batter over them.

Place the pie pan on a cookie sheet and bake at 375°F (190°C) for ten minutes. Reduce the temperature to 350°F (175°C) and bake until the top of the clafoutis is puffed, about 35-40 minutes.

Cool on a rack for half an hour. Dust with powdered sugar before serving if desired.

This time I made some changes to the original recipe because I’ve developed an intolerance to dairy since I first posted it. I eliminated the butter, and substituted soy milk for the whole cow’s milk. No it’s not the same, and I’m sure any purist would scrunch their nose at it (though the addition of the chocolate is already reason for that) but I’m just glad to have found a way to enjoy one of my favorite desserts from before the time without dairy. And I think it’s still quite good.

Non-dairy variation:
Substitute 1 cup/250ml soy milk for the whole milk, and melt the chocolate without the butter. Otherwise, the ingredients and procedure are as outlined above, in the original recipe.

The clafoutis, up close

The clafoutis, up close

2 responses to “Chocolate clafoutis

  1. YUM! I’ll give the non-dairy version a try and take it a step further by subbing a portion of the flour since I’m in hemp flour experiment mode. You just can’t go wrong with cherries and chocolate.

  2. Hi Rowena, thanks for stopping by! By the next day the taste of the clafoutis was much improved because it tasted more of cherries and less of soy milk. I also used an extra 75g of cherries (just what happened to be in the bowl) and I think that helped too. I’m curious to find out how your hemp flour experiment goes.

Comments are closed.