Castagneto

Chestnut grove, Roccamonfina

Chestnut grove, Roccamonfina

A couple of weeks ago we had a picnic with N’s family in a chestnut grove in the nearby town of Roccamonfina.  As I walked around looking at the trees, I found myself wishing we had chestnuts instead of olives.  I do appreciate making our own oil but I miss green and shade and cooler climates.

Moss on a chestnut tree

Moss on a chestnut tree

A found quite a lot of moss growing on several of the trees, and I picked some of it off, collecting it for our presepe.

Gnarled portion of a chestnut tree

Gnarled portion of a chestnut tree

The oldest trees had gnarled and bulbous trunks. The detail above made me think of the face of a teddy bear.

2 responses to “Castagneto

  1. Beautiful pictures! Sounds like you had fun and now I know where the green comes from in the presepe. Thank you….

  2. And here I am wishing that we had olive trees (or any other tree for that matter) instead of all these chestnuts! As they say, the grass is always greener…. ;-)

Comments are closed.